Photo Credit: Stephen Jensen/Josh Hartzler/Katie Hestla


In The Beginning:

American Hard Rockers Dark New Day formed in 2004 with a line up consisting of Will Hunt (Evanescence), Clint Lowery (Sevendust), Brett Hestla (Virgos Merlot), Troy McLawhorn (Evanescence), and Corey Lowery (Stereomud, Eye Empire). They were quickly snatched up by Warner Bros. Records and released their debut album "Twelve Year Silence" in 2005. Charting in the Billboard Top 200, the album went on to be extremely successful and build their ever growing fan base.

The band continued with a rigorous touring schedule supporting such acts as Chevelle, Seether, and Crossfade. In 2006 the band released an EP entitled "The Black Porch Acoustic Sessions" after being on tour for over a year. The band recorded their second full length album entitled "Hail Mary" in 2006 for Warner Bros. Records. Going through many employee and management changes, Warner Bros. decided to release the band from their contract while leav-ing the "Hail Mary" album to be unreleased. It was at this point that Dark New Day went on a hiatus, with the mem-bers either returning to their previous bands or venturing out into new projects.

Modern Day:

The fire for new Dark New Day material continued to burn in both the band members and the diehard fan base alike. The band came together in 2011 to compile tracks for a special album to be released as a "Thank You" to all the loyal fans that have continued to follow the band and request more material from the group.

The band was contacted by Goomba Music with an offer to provide a venue to release the material through a world-wide distribution network. On November 14, 2011 Dark New Day announced a partnership with the Chicago based label to release a new album.

The band’s sophomore album, "New Tradition” is scheduled for a February 28, 2012 release. The new album will feature some of Dark New Day’s finest material to date.

Guitarist Clint Lowery states, "We are very excited about the new Dark New Day release and first the single ‘New Tradition’. It seems that the time is right to make these songs public and share with the fans that continue to support this project.”

Prolific songwriters and drawing on their long time friendships, Dark New Day enjoyed a creative outburst from 2004 to 2006 crafting many songs, and all of the thirteen songs on “New Tradition” were written and recorded during this period. Although a few years old, Lowery says, “We believe this music is still very valid and powerful today and think its mandatory we give these songs a fair chance out in the music world. We owe it to ourselves and the DND fans. ‘New Tradition’ sums up the mindset we were in writing the follow up to ‘Twelve Year Silence’.”

There is something very comforting and honest about “New Tradition,” that certain “it” that is hard to put into words. Needless to say, the guys in the band are seasoned veterans and have achieved tremendous success with their other bands. Maybe it is this success and their close friendship that bred such confidence that shines through in the song-writing and the performances on “New Tradition”.

From the bombastic opening drums of “Fists From The Sky,” the passion filled anthem and lead single “New Tradi-tion,” to the groove filled final track “Burns Your Eyes,” this record will satisfy even the most zealous rock fans and critics. Prepare for the rise of a Dark New Day.

Back to Past Campaigns

[back to top]